Organizing Committee

Anne H. Berman, Ph.D.
President ISBM

Anne H. Berman, Ph.D., is a Professor of Psychology at Uppsala University, and the current President of the International Society of Behavioral Medicine. She is a clinical psychologist, with a research focus on assessment and low-threshold digital treatment of addiction and mental health issues within a behavioral medicine perspective.

Her overall research goal is to reduce the treatment gap which arises when people with signs and symptoms of problematic addictive behaviors, as well as mental health issues, remain unaware of their inner experiences as problems that can be assessed and treated, and do not seek help. Based at Uppsala University and Karolinska Institutet, her research focuses on digital interventions for problematic substance use and for university students with mental health issues. She has authored over 100 publications, including over 100 peer-review articles, 4 books, 11 book chapters as well as over 20 scientific reports. Clinically, she worked as a psychotherapist in addictions for 10 years, followed by four years as director of the Swedish National Helpline for problem gamblers and their family members. Within her longstanding interest in behavioral medicine, she has produced a Massive Online Open Course (MOOC) on behavioral medicine, KIBEHMEDx, now available without cost on Canvas after an initial launch on edX. She received a Distinguished Career Contribution Award in Behavioral Medicine in 2018.

Michael A. Diefenbach, Ph.D.
Scientific Program Chair

Michael A. Diefenbach, Ph.D., is Professor of Medicine, Psychiatry, and Urology at the Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra University and the Feinstein Institutes at Northwell Health, New York.  He is Associate Director of the Institute for Health System Science and Director of Behavioral Research in the Departments of Medicine and Urology. 

For the past 25 years his research has focused on exploring psychosocial issues among prostate, bladder, and breast cancer patients. This has included the assessment of cognitive and affective factors in reaction to disease and treatment, their influence on treatment decision making, and the exploration of general and disease specific quality of life. Guided by a self-regulation theoretical framework, his research has alternated between the assessment of basic psychological phenomena and the development of applied interventions based on basic findings. His research has been continuously funded by the NCI, the Department of Defense, and the American Cancer Society.  Dr. Diefenbach has a long history of service to the behavioral medicine and academic community.  He has served on NIH study sections and was the senior associate editor of Translational Behavioral Medicine.  He is the primary author of the recently published Handbook of Health Decision Science and for the Society of Behavioral Medicine has been its treasurer/secretary and President.

Ryan E. Rhodes, Ph.D
Local Committee Chair

Ryan E. Rhodes is a Professor in the School of Exercise Science, Physical and Health Education, cross-appointed in the Department of Psychology, and Director of the Behavioral Medicine Laboratory at the University of Victoria, Canada. His primary area of research is the psychology of physical activity with an applied focus on promotion during critical life transitions…

… such as parenthood and early family development. Dr. Rhodes is also one of the world experts on the intention-behavior gap, made popular by New Years resolutions that people struggle to enact every year. His team has created a theoretical model, known as multi-process action control that has been validated with success to assist in turning good intentions into sustainable behavior change through habit and identity formation. Dr. Rhodes has held over 120 grants for this research and he has contributed over 450 publications, 35 book chapters and three books. Dr. Rhodes is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, Society of Behavioral Medicine, Academy of Behavioral Medicine, American Psychological Association (Distinguished Affiliate), and a College Member of the Royal Society of Canada. He is the Co-Editor-in-Chief of Psychology and Health, and Associate Editor of Exercise and Sports Sciences Reviews.

For more information see:
ORCID-ID: 0000-0003-0940-9040

Maria Kleinstäuber, Ph.D.
Organizing Committee

Maria Kleinstäuber, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor of Psychology at Utah State University and Honorary Associate Professor at University of Otago (New Zealand). She is a licensed clinical psychologist in Germany and New Zealand. Dr. Kleinstäuber received her Diploma and her Ph.D. from Johannes-Gutenberg University (Germany). 

She has gained research and clinical experience in various international research institutions such as University of Auckland (New Zealand), Brigham Young University (Provo, USA), and several German universities. Her research focuses on the psychological management of persistent somatic symptoms including chronic pain and tinnitus. She is author of over 100 scholarly works in the field of behavioral medicine and psychosomatics. She is the Secretary of the International Society of Behavioral Medicine (ISBM) and Associate Editor of the Journal of Psychosomatic Research. In 2013 she received the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Cochrane Review Incentive Scheme and in 2016 the ISBM Early Career Award. She has been received funding for her research from multiple sources including the German Research Foundation and Health Research Council New Zealand.

Program Committee

Michael Diefenbach – Chair
Anne H. Berman
Joost Dekker
Beate Ditzen

Maria Kleinstäuber
Urs Nater
Judith Prins
Ryan Rhodes

Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin
Kerry Sherman
Sharon Simpson

Track Chairs

Pernilla Asenlof
Abigail Batchelder
Anne H Berman
Els Clays
Susan Czajkowski
Sannisha Dale
Rani Elwy

Andrew Geers
Aaron Guest
Deborah Jones Weiss
Rodney Joseph
Hans Knoop
Annette La Greca
Joseph Lau

Jessica McCurley
Barbara Mullan
Urs Nater
Gozde Ozakinci
Keith Petrie
Siobhan Phillips
Chengxuan Qi

Winfried Rief
Rachel Shelton
Johannes Siegrist
Omer van den Bergh
Kavita Vedhara
Jean Yi
Kazuhiro Yoshiuchi

Local Organizing Committee

Coming soon…